Merging contact history is currently only available for Trust Accounting users.
A contact's history can only be merged into a contact from the same company. The merge button will be disabled if the <All companies> filter is selected.
The following contact types can't be merged:
- Bond Authorities
- Archived contacts
Merging the history of a contact does not update the contact details or any existing fee rules against the contact. Run the Fee Rules by Owner report under Trust Accounting Reports to see if there are any fee rules that require updating.
When you select Merge, a screen will pop up asking you to select the primary contact for the merge. The primary contact is the contact who will be left over after the merge is completed.
Select your primary contact, then tick the checkbox acknowledging you understand what will happen, then click Merge.
Please note for disbursements:
Once the Merge Contact has taken place, all Ledgers associated with the Owner Contact will pull through during Disbursement. There is only the ability to turn off Disbursing funds fully out of the Ledger, but controlling Expenses out of a particular Ledger isn't then possible if the Merge Owner has been applied.